Hypnotists, Phone Chargers and the Gift of Life

Steve is a performing hypnotist and magician.

We just had a fascinating conversation about fear, mind-control, and…. God. I got into this conversation because I carry a multi-plug surge protector with me when I travel. Plugs are always scarce and providing extra power sources frequently lead to friendly conversation.

As a follower of Jesus, I am always looking for opportunities to talk to people around me about life, it’s purpose and meaning, and our ultimate destination which is determined by what we do with Jesus.

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. John 14:6

I don’t always have a lot of success at striking up conversations. Once they begin, I am often unsuccessful at communicating my heart to a perfect stranger in the short time we have together. I want to do a better job of authentically and clearly communicating how much God loves each one of us as individuals.

They need to know that our failures, imperfections and wrong choices are a barrier to having a relationship with our loving, yet holy Heavenly Father – and He created us for the purpose of having that relationship with Him. I long for them to know that there is hope in spite of that broken relationship. Jesus, God in the flesh, came to earth. He lived a sinless life and He showed us what God is like. Then, He took the sin of all humanity upon Himself – He suffered the judgement that you deserved, I deserved, every man, woman and child deserved by dying a horrific death in our place. Even more incredible than that, He rose from the dead. He conquered death and in doing, proved to us that He is God and He is more powerful than anything else in existence.

For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast. Ephesians 2:8-9

While all of this is true, whether we acknowledge it or not, the important thing is that each one of us must make a decision. Ephesians tells us that this salvation that Jesus offers is a gift. What must one do to receive a gift? Take it! Accept it! That is what we must do with the gift that Jesus offers us – dying in our place and offering us life.

I am so thankful for this gift! I am so thankful that I get tell others about it so that they can experience forgiveness and a relationship with God!

 

Leave a Reply

