Your World is Too Small

This is a reality that slaps a person in the face as soon as the obstetrician slaps her bare behind. All of the sudden she realizes there is a world where slapping is possible! She never knew…

Last night I joined almost 100,000,000 people in watching a game – a game that fell far short of its hype. I enjoyed this game far more, though, because I heard stories about the lives of the players. These were stories of overcoming odds, persevering in spite of challenges, accomplishing dreams in honor of lost loved ones, character that has stood the test of time, and even poignant moments of reaping what has been sown. The stories brought depth and meaning to the game. However….

My heart sank when the announcers started touting the Seattle Seahawks as World Champions. It reminded me that I live in a beautifully diverse and remarkable world – a world that more than 7,046,000,000 people call home.  Not even half of the world watched this game. Only 1 country’s teams were represented. Don’t get me wrong – I think that the Seahawks success was great. They won the highest honor the NFL has in a decisive victory. They should be proud to be named NFL Champions. Congratulations on your victory, Seattle.

The Olympics are next. As we shift gears to hear amazing stories of triumph and sacrifice, we will watch them on a world stage. We will celebrate the fact that some made it there to represent their countries. We will be disappointed as dreams are dashed by a fall on the ice. We will watch world records broken. And we will see true world champions.

As I watch these stories unfold, I will be asking myself how I have made my world too small, because I know I have. I’ll be driven to learn about new cultures, understand struggles that I may never face, and be thankful for blessings that I take for granted today.

How about you? What are you learning about the world as you watch the Olympics?

2 comments

  1. Anna Johnson · · Reply

    FanTAStic, Cheryl!! And I completely agree with the ‘world champs’ thing. I will be watching the Olympics and I am REALLY excited to share that with my two year old – exposing her to new things, new God given talents and with your reminder, new PEOPLES, cultures and reflections of God in the entire world. Thanks for this post. Now when we watch I will also be sharing with Ellie about God’s people all over the world and His investment in their talents, etc, etc … it’s going to be REALLY fun to get to educate her through the Olympics. I wonder what else He will bring up 🙂

  2. I love it, Anna! What a great opportunity to teach little Ellie and learn together! Nothing grows my understanding of the greatness of God like exploring the facets of His creation.

Leave a Reply

