World Changing – Writing History or Fairytale Dreaming?

IMG_0351
“If you could to anything to change the world, what would it be?”
That’s quite a question to answer in a group of influential leaders that you are just getting to know. Considering that question started to remind me of answering the hypothetical question a genie emerging from a bottle might ask.
While it is a question that taps into dreams, passions and purpose in life, I can slip into a place where the “playlist” I am listening to links this question to fairytales and fantasies. What is the point in answering this question? Will it just awaken in me a discontent with the brokenness around me, or will it inspire me to make a difference in our diseased world? Both answers to that question are legitimate possibilities. What makes the difference?
1 – What is the difference you want to make? 
If the difference I want to make lines up with the narrative we are living in, I can definitely play a role in making this world a better place. That begs the question, “What is the plot line of that narrative?” It’s not without its mysteries, but it is definitely knowable.
 2 – Who is the hero of the story?
If I am willing to give up my desire to be centerstage, playing the hero, I have a much greater opportunity to make a real difference. (See previous blog post)
3 – Who are my allies?
I may have a brilliant idea and an inspiring vision. I may think I know exactly how to make it happen. If I think that I can do it all by myself, chances are that I am on the road to a delusional fairytale that doesn’t have a good ending. There are amazing people, organizations and churches out there. These are talented, passionate people. People that you have the opportunity to shape and be shaped by. Your life will be richer as you love your neighbor who is on mission right beside you.
So, what is your role in the story? What difference can you make? Who can you collaborate with to see it happen? What is the next step you need to take and when will you do it? 

If you are feeling brave, share it in the comments!

2 comments

  1. Inspiring!

  2. Thanks, Kara! Your life is one that constantly reminds me of how daily obedience can change the world! Love you!

Leave a Reply

