Change Your Playlist. Change Your Life.

IMG_8539“I am not good at anything.”

“No one could ever love me.”

“I would be happy if I had …… (a husband, a baby, a better job, more money)”

Lies. These are all lies. But sometimes they feel more real than the truth. How did we get here?

We are easily deceived. And as much as I would like to think that I’m not so gullible, being part of the human race means I am. As a result, I have to fight to cling to truth. If I passively allow myself to believe everything my heart tells me, I will be trapped in a tiny, suffocating cage of lies.

How do we get past these lies? How can our hearts be convinced of the truth?

You and I have to sift through the voices in our heads and figure out where the lies are and then reject them!

Step 1: Take some time to identify the condemning, shaming, negative thoughts that keep you from freedom, hope, life and flourishing. Hint: usually these are labels that you give yourself or conclusions that seem inevitable based on your circumstances. It’s a really good idea to ask trusted friends who love you and know you well to help you identify these poisonous, false “truths.”

Step 2: For this to work you have to accept this first premise: There is a single standard of truth and it is knowable. Without this foundation, then there is no hope to fight the lies because there is no way to know the truth.

Step 3: Unpack your syllogisms. You are probably thinking, “I don’t even know what syllogisms are! I certainly didn’t pack them.” I hate to break it to you, but your syllogisms are a big part of the “baggage” you have been carrying with you since you were a tot. Aristotle defined them for us. It is the logical formula that we use without even knowing it to draw conclusions and understand our reality.

Here’s a good example: Wood comes from trees. This chair is made of wood. Therefore, this chair came from trees.

Here’s a bad example: You have to be smart to get into medical school. I did not get into medical school. Therefore, I am not smart.

The 1st syllogism works. The 2nd one doesn’t. You can easily see how someone who failed to get into medical school might have a hard time seeing the fault in that logic. Take a minute and identify what is wrong with the 2nd example. 

Now, take the list from Step 2 and try to identify where the breakdown is in your logic. Don’t stop until you get to the bottom of it. You will need the standard of truth, the courage to be honest, and the help of your trusted friends in this process.

Step 4: Reject each of the lies that you have believed. Replace those lies with truth. Ask your friends to help you. Repeat this step any time those lies creep back in, and they will creep back in.

Are you free? You can be. Fight for it. Don’t stop fighting until you are free. Side with the truth. It is knowable and it gives life, it doesn’t steal it.

And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free. John 8:32

The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life. John 10:10

I am the way, the truth, and the life.  John 14:6

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

